It’s been a little while since I’ve posted. Haven’t had the energy to do so. I’m stuck in a whirlwind of getting my shit together for dr’s appts, disability, unemployment, and student loans. Along with coming to grips with the fact that I have a body that is failing me structurally, I’ve been having cycles of depression and positivity… not exactly manic-depressive, but days like… ‘whoot, I got something done’, or ‘fuck, my body isn’t listening and I will never be able to work again.’ I’m getting there, though. Accepting this crap, that is. I’ve been told by many that I have been handed a crappy hand, but that I’m dealing pretty well. I’m trying to stay as positive as I can. I met with a Disability Lawyer, presented my case, and he said that it sounds like I could be approved and to go ahead and apply. So I did that today. Got all my paperwork together, letters from drs (except the one from my primary which arrived 3 hours AFTER my meeting), letters from friends, clinical notes from the geneticist, symptom impairment worksheet… everything I could possibly do to prove my case. Everything is going to be processed and hopefully I will hear back sooner than later. The lawyer said to give him a call when I found out what the decision is, and if I am denied then we’ll go from there. So that’s that. It’s done for now. I can breathe a little bit. Meanwhile, I am trying to get into the pain clinic and somehow the referral has been lost. WTF, man? Waiting to hear back on that.

Other things… I’m trying to learn watercolors… Neil’s mom is helping me out, giving me pointers, stuff like that. She’s an amazing artist, and I’m so jealous. I’ve also joined a Chick Lit book club. Ha. Right now we are reading The Names My Sisters Call Me by Megan Crane. I’m 5 chapters in. I have to say… the story isn’t horrible, but I am having a hard time with the author’s style. The main character often goes into thought/rambling sequences and seem out of place. Hopefully it will get better.

