I received a second spindle yesterday so that I could play with my beautiful merino top (neatly prepared fleece) from Pancake & Lulu on Etsy.  It’s a beautiful burgundy-wine color (I know, you are all just so shocked!) with spots of white in it.  SO pretty.  This second spindle is a bottom whorl where the weight is on, you guessed it, the bottom.  I’ve been practicing with a top whorl spindle and still haven’t really gotten the hang of spinning with that yet, but I am very frustrated with the batt of alpaca I’ve been working with.  It’s not prepared all the well, especially for a beginner like me, and have been hemming and hawing about it and whether or not to keep it or to just sell it.  I’m thinking I’m going to sell it.  Meanwhile, I’ve been really wanting to work with the merino and since I now have a second spindle decided to give it a go.  Well, I am somewhat at a loss to how the bottom whorl process is and what makes it especially difficult is that I spin short lengths at a time using the park and draft method, (for all you non-spinners that are completely lost, I apologize, there will be more spinning stuff later on) which for a bottom whorl doesn’t seem to work very well.  I have Abby Franquemont’s book Respect the Spindle which is a great book for a spinner to own, and will be receiving the corresponding DVD in the mail shortly.  So with all this guidance coming my way, I should be ok?  lol.

On the knitting front, I’ve been working on the pyroclastic socks from Knitty using a very pretty yarn gifted to me.  Only issue being it’s a heavy fingering that’s close to sport weight and have had to do quite  a bit of math.  Now that I am almost done with the first sock I’ve realized that I didn’t write any of the new numbers down…. facepalm.  I think I am going to frog it, sad I know, and finding a more suitable sock pattern for this lovely yarn and make the Pyroclastics with a different yarn I have.

