With much encouragement from folks on Facebook, I have decided to do a series of posts discussing Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs). A lot of my content will be mostly about Asperger’s Syndrome and Higher Functioning Autism, but I will also include some posts of the more severe end of the Autism Spectrum. I do believe that with the right kind of education, assistance, understanding, patience, etc., that any Autistic child or person can become a well functioning person.

A big component of this “Project” will be a list of suggested reading for people who are affected by Autism Spectrum Disorders. This may include parents, teachers, and/or children, teens, adults with ASDs. It’s going to take some time, and is a huge commitment, but I feel it is so important. There is so much that is misunderstood when it comes to the world of Autism that I feel it is necessary to speak up and talk about it, whether it be my own experiences, books about Autism and associated disorders, fiction with autism/autistic characters (accurate depictions only), or links to posts from others on the Autistic Spectrum.

I am welcoming any and all suggestions for this Project. What do you want to know? Is there a book you recommend? – I will most definitely look into it and post a review! Leave me a comment and let me know. Or if you’d rather email me feel free to do that: klacerte (at) gmail (dot) com.

