When I first got really sick with the EDS and all that came with it, I was still in therapy trying to recover from Anorexia. I had managed to stay at a healthy weight for a few years and felt really good about it, both mentally and physically. Healthwise, I was still struggling and trying to figure out how to go about my care. I’ve had lots of ups and downs since then, along with a lot of trial and error with different medications and some that came with some greatly unwanted side effects. The most unwanted… weight gain. First it was only 5-10lbs and ok, I could deal with that. Then I started to develop severe GI issues and slowly started cutting things out of my diet, which would make most people think that I’d lose some weight. However, when those foods consist of vegetables, most fruits, and other forms of fiber and I’m left with basically simple starches  it’s easy to put on the pounds, clearly. 

Last summer, I was able to get back to walking and was up to about a mile a day, then all of a sudden I was hit with a wave of fatigue that I haven’t been able to shake. Every few days I try to do some small exercises, nothing to crazy as I know my body has it’s many limits. The problem with it is that the next day I’m completely useless. It doesn’t seem to matter how much or how little I seem to do, I’m completely useless, to the point where I am literally FIGHTING to stay awake and keep my eyes open.  It’s not just with exercise, last weekend N and I went out to dinner with some friends and it was about a 1.5 hour car ride each way. The next day I was seriously struggling to stay awake. 

I see my metabolic doctor on wednesday and am going to ask him about ideas to help combat this fatigue issue and about seeing a nutritionist. I need to figure something out because I’ve noticed a big difference in my pain levels since putting on this extra weight. That, and I want to feel comfortable in my clothes again and feel good about myself in general.

